Fixedgearlondonism…

Daily goings on at fixedgearlondon…

Archive for June 16th, 2009

Juliet :)

leave a comment »

Is on the Guardian website, nice little write up of her journey to work…


8. Hackney to Kensington, London, England

Fixed gear London Juliet (r) and teammate Posy Dixon riding fixed through London. Photograph: Sam Hart

Juliet Elliott sponsored rider for Charge Bikes

My favourite route is possibly other people’s idea of hell, but the joy of riding in London’s traffic comes from the thrill of knowing how to handle it. Every day I cut a path right across the centre of London, riding from Hackney in the east to Kensington in the west. Setting off from Dalston in the morning, I pick my way around the potholes of Kingsland Road and head up to Islington before joining the bottleneck at the cyclepath at the top of Rosebery Avenue. I cruise down this hill and join up with the commuters along Gray’s Inn Road before picking my line around Holborn’s busy junction. I then carry on through Soho and past Chinatown.

At Hyde Park Corner, I take cover next to a double decker bus, its bulk
sheltering me from the onslaught of the traffic to the right as I make
my way over to the green oasis of one of the finest parks in the world.
I roll along watching the Horseguards practice their drills, seeing the
Queen’s swans gently bobbing on the pond and hearing the
birds twittering.

• Find out more about riding fixed gear bikes in the capital with the Fixed Gear London blog. Another major source of information is the London Fixed Gear and Singlspeed forum.

Written by fixedgearlondon

June 16, 2009 at 9:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized